FAQ

General

  1. What can I eat now?

    People with celiac disease have reactions to foods which contain wheat, rye, barley, and oats. These grains may be found in breading, crutons, marinades, malt, soy sause, pasta, broth, etc.

    You CAN eat corn, rice, potato, corn starch and any other foods that do not contain wheat, rye barley, and oats.

  2. What are the common symptoms of celiac disease?

    Each case of celiac disease can have different symptoms. If you feel you may have celiac disease please see your doctor.

    • Fatigue, lack of energy
    • Diarrhea and/or constipation
    • Bone or joint pain
    • Weight loss
    • Anemia
    • Bloating, gas, abdominal cramping
    • Behavior changes, depression


  3. What is the treatment for Celiac Disease?

    Lifelong adherence to a gluten-free diet

  4. What is Celiac Disease?

    Celiac Disease is a disease of the small intestine triggered by the ingestion of wheat, rye, barley or oats. A type of protein in these grains causes an "autoimmune" response that damages the small intestinal lining in genetically susceptible individuals. Celiac disease is estimated to occur in 1 of 135 persons in the United States. It is twice as common in females and occurs primarily in Caucasians.

  5. How do wheat, rye, barley and oats cause this disease?

    We are genetically programmed to react to various foreign proteins. The gliadin portion of the gluten protein is recognized as foreign in patients with the DQ2 or DQ8 gene (present in 98-99% of celiac patients). An immune-mediated inflammatory reaction occurs which damages the intestinal lining. As a result of this damage to the intestinal cells, their slender, microsopic finger-like projections called villi are reduced in length thus reducing their absorptive surface and capacity. Other substanaces including gliadin may "leak" across the mucosa, possibly causing other autoimmune disorders.

    Celiac Disease may begin anytime from early childhood to late adulthood.

Back to top